Roasted Tomatillo Salsa

So, Mr. Pea and I had very busy weekend this past Easter holiday. We usually have busy holidays  because we have many places to go and people to see, and there is always so much to do and so little time in the day to do it.  I am not complaining, Mr. Pea and I had a great weekend with family and friends, I just feel like I was in a tornado and spit out the other side  from how much we did in such a little time. In fact Mr. Pea didn’t even wake me up this morning for our morning workout and let me sleep in, and I actually did  for once! We usually wake up at 5:30am to workout every morning on the weekdays and so my internal clock usually doesn’t let me sleep past 6:00am!  I was so grateful to catch up on some zzz’s.

Anyways I know we left off talking about  how I was going to  dye eggs with Mr. Pea’s mom. We had so much fun, sometime it is just nice to just hangout and let your inner child come out! We definitely had a plethora of eggs to dye.  I made a dozen and a half and so did Mr. Pea’s mom.  It was especially  nice, because we got everyone involved, even Mr. Pea!  I will have to show you some photos below of some of our favorite creations.

The creativity just doesn’t flow without happy hour and a full belly. So I had brought up one of my favorite salsas that Mr. Pea makes. It is a tomatillo salsa and makes a great salsa for  an appetizer,  you can add an avacado to it and blend it in a food process or and make a avacado-tomatillo spread for a torta or a grilled chicken sandwich, it also makes a great salsa for tacos, or even to on top of fish for a burst of flavor.

So after a couple of beers and some salsa  we decided to order a pizza from one of the best pizza places in Racine county. The place is called Infusino’s Pizzeria and Restaurant, this restaurant has a couple of locations in Racine, but we went to the one located at 3225 Rapids Drive in Racine. This pizza is one of Mr. Pea’s top favorite places for pizza. The first being a place in Ocean City, New Jersey on the boardwalk called Preps Pizzeria & Dairy Bar and the second being my homemade pizza that I make, that I will surly have to share with you all. Infusino’s  is the pizza Mr. Pea grew up eating and reminds him of his childhood. A good choice since we were all sort of letting our inner child come out for egg dyeing.

Image

Roasted Tomatillo Salsa

Ingredients:
1/2 Pound(s) husked, rinsed tomatillo
1 stemmed jalapeno pepper
2 Clove(s) peeled garlic
1/2 Bunch(s) cilantro
1/4 chopped white onion

Directions:
Roast the tomatillos, chile(s) and garlic on a rimmed baking sheet 4 inches below a very hot broiler, until blotchy black and softening (they’ll be turning from lime green to olive), about 5 minutes. Flip them over and roast the other side. Cool, then transfer everything to a blender, including all the delicious juice the tomatillos have exuded during roasting. Add the cilantro and 1/4 cup water, then blend to a coarse puree. Scoop into a serving dish. Rinse the onion under cold water, then shake to remove excess moisture. Stir into the salsa and season with salt, usually 1/2 teaspoon.

Enjoy!

Now for a little egg dyeing display of our creations:

ImageTurtle in his shell

ImageMr. Pea’s Mexican guy

ImageWe tried Tye Dyeing eggs and used glitter too!

ImageMr. Pea’s crazy Easter Bunny

ImageIn lieu of Opening Day, Mr. Pea’s mom made a baseball, she makes one every year, and it wouldn’t be Easter without the baseball egg!

ImageIn honor of Mr. Pea’s late grandmother we called Grandma B.

ImageFishy

ImageKitty! It’s Peaches, Mr. Pea’s kitty.

ImageMr. Pea and I  both made penguins! Can you guess whose is whose?

Happy Easter Everyone!

Leave a Reply

